Together We Restore the Beauty Of Sight

Executive Director: Elizabeth Fout, MHSA

Elizabeth Fout has served Florida Lions Eye Bank since 1998, when she joined as a recovery technician. In 2005, Fout assumed the role of Executive Director, and has successfully led Florida Lions Eye Bank through regulatory changes, technological advances, financial restructuring, and unprecedented growth. Fout holds a bachelor’s degree in Biology from the University of Florida and a master’s degree in Hospital Services Administration from Florida International University.

Medical Director: Sander Dubovy, M.D.

As volunteer medical director, Sander R. Dubovy, M.D. oversees both the medical operations of Florida Lions Eye Bank and its affiliated ocular pathology laboratory. Dr. Dubovy is a Professor of Ophthalmology and Pathology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute and is one of only a few physicians in the nation who is board-certified in both. In 2015, Dr. Dubovy was awarded the Victor T. Curtin Chair in Ophthalmology, which was established with a major gift from the Lions of South Florida to support experimental ophthalmic research.

Director Laboratory Services: Concetta Triglia, MS, CEBT, Ph.D

Director of Quality Assurance: Vivian C. Lopez

Director of Public Relations: Mara Budnetz

Florida Lions Eye Bank team also includes our compassionate family service representatives, our highly trained recovery technicians, the skilled staff of the ocular pathology lab, and our hardworking administrative and technical support personnel. Additionally, we could not do the work we do without the help of our network of hospitals, funeral directors, medical examiners, airline employees, and law enforcement agencies.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Florida Lions Eye Bank comprises Lions from many different clubs throughout Multiple District 35. Officers serve one-year terms and are appointed each June. As “Knights of the Blind” for the past century, Lions are champions of vision-related causes worldwide, and major supporters of the Florida Lions Eye Bank.

Officers 2022-2023

President: Lion Helene Thompson, PCC

Vice Presidents:
Vice President District 35-L: Lion Bobby Wright, DG
Vice President District 35-I: Lion Judy Galm, PDG
Vice President District 35-O: Lion Greg Evans, PCC
Vice President District 35-N: Lion Tony Montes, PDG

Secretary: Lion James Campbell, PDG
Treasurer: Lion Joel Levenston, PVDG

Lion Felisa DeKler
Lion Robert Gentilini
Lion Elbio Gimenez, PDG
Lion Karen Douglas
Lion Dr. Esperanza Gomez
Lion Karen Stowers
Lion Catherine Triana

Immediate Past President: Lion Geoffrey Wade, PID

For information on how you can volunteer, send an email to or call 305-324-4340.